10:06 AM

DFW International Airport Board Elects New Leadership

Francisco Hernandez named Chairman; Board leadership diverse and experienced

DFW AIRPORT, TX (February 3, 2011) – Fort Worth attorney Francisco Hernandez, Jr. has been elected as the new Chairman of the DFW International Airport Board of Directors. Hernandez has served on the Board since May 2006, and served previously as the Secretary and most recently as the Vice Chairman of the Board. Joining Hernandez as Board officers will be Robert Hsueh of Dallas and Jeff Wentworth of Fort Worth, who were elected as Vice Chairman and Board Secretary, respectively.

Mr. Hernandez operates the Law Offices of Francisco Hernandez. In recent years, he has served as an associate municipal judge and as Chairman of the Texas Ethics Commission. He also worked personally with Vicente Fox's campaign for President of Mexico, and has helped bridge the gap between Mexico and U.S. business practices as an expert in the area of international relations and politics.

“Francisco Hernandez is highly qualified to take the reins as Board Chair for DFW,” said Fort Worth Mayor Mike Moncrief. “Francisco has demonstrated thoughtful leadership during his years of service on this Board. He understands business and the role DFW Airport plays in the economic growth of our region. Francisco will no doubt provide a steady and guiding hand."

Hernandez takes over for outgoing Board Chair Ben Muro, whose term is expiring. Muro, the director of human resources for Acme Brick Company in Fort Worth, first joined the Board in April 2005, and served as Vice Chair starting in February 2008 and as Chairman from April 2009 to the present. "Ben deserves great praise for his outstanding leadership as Board Chair,” said incoming Board Chair Francisco Hernandez. “Ben has truly extended the reach of this great Airport and afforded a great deal of valued insight and vision to the Airport’s management team.”

Hsueh, the incoming Board Vice Chair, has been practicing international and immigration law in North Texas since 1979, and has served on the DFW Board since May of 2005. He is the managing partner of the Law Offices of Robert W. Hsueh, P.C., and is very active in the international business community.

"Robert’s three decades of leadership on international outreach for the DFW region and his work on the Board has served the Airport very well during his tenure here,” said Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert. “The Airport’s mission to connect the world, and specifically to obtain new service to Asia, will be well served with Robert’s insight.”

Jeff Wentworth, the newly elected Board Secretary, has served on the Board since September of 2003, including a term as Board Chair. Prior to DFW, Wentworth served on the Fort Worth City Council from 1997 to 2003. A resident of Fort Worth for more than 30 years, Mr. Wentworth retired from NationsBank, now Bank of America, after 25 years of service, concluding his career as the regional manager for the Fort Worth region.

"Jeff's election as Board secretary is well deserved," said Mayor Moncrief. "Jeff has been a driving force on many financial and operational issues and his wise counsel has been and will continue to be invaluable."

The DFW International Airport Board of Directors is comprised of 12 members. Current members include Mr. Hernandez, Mr. Wentworth, Lillie Biggins and Mayor Mike Moncrief, all from Fort Worth, as well as Mr. Hseuh, Betty Culbreath, Ben Muro, Brenda Reyes, Forrest Smith, Bernice Washington and Mayor Tom Leppert from Dallas, along with Grapevine City Councilwoman Darlene Freed.

The Dallas and Fort Worth Mayors each have a permanent seat on the Board. The Dallas City Council appoints six members of the Board, and the Fort Worth City Council appoints three members. A single non-voting member is appointed by one of the four host cities of DFW Airport, rotating annually between the cities of Euless, Grapevine, Irving and Coppell.