04:29 AM

DFW International Airport Kicks Off "Share The Dream" Student Encouragement Program

High Schools From Five Local Districts Will Nominate Students Based On Integrity And Determination

DFW INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, Texas (October 20, 2003) — DFW International Airport today kicked off its "Share the Dream" program to commemorate the dedication of the Airport 30 years ago to area children and recognize 30 North Texas students for their personal integrity and determination to be the best they can be.

At the 1973 dedication of the Airport, former Texas Governor John Connally said, "DFW Airport is dedicated to the young faces of the future, here and around the world." DFW’s "Share the Dream" campaign is designed to support, honor and educate area youth in the coming months as the Airport celebrates 30 years of service to North Texas.

"DFW is proud to create the Share the Dream award and assist our community in recognizing our youth and developing future leaders, "says Jeff Fegan, CEO of DFW Airport. "We think it is critical on our 30th anniversary and in this year celebrating the centennial of flight that students have a sense of curiosity about aviation, science and discovery, and how far we've come in a relatively short time."

The "Share the Dream" program is designed to recognize students who have struggled in school and life and made great improvements toward their dreams. Educators at selected schools will nominate students in grades 9 through 12. Each student will write a brief essay about his or her life and why it is important to stay in school and persevere to be the best they can be. A committee of Airport employees will select the 30 winners who will be notified of their selection before Christmas so they and their parents can make plans to attend the awards ceremony at the Airport's 30th Anniversary Gala in January 2004.

The theme is inspired by the "Share the Dream" sculpture standing at Founders Plaza, presented to the Airport by AMR/American Airlines Foundation to commemorate the Airport's 25th Anniversary. The sculpture, created by artist Dennis Smith, symbolizes the love of flight and the spirit of the original dream that became DFW Airport. It is dedicated to future generations with the hope that it may serve as a reminder that dreams can become reality. Depicting three children, the sculpture has an inscription that reads, "On a warm summer evening, on the open Texas prairie, children play with arms outstretched and dream of soaring among the clouds." Awards presented to the students will reflect the sculpture's design.

Each year, DFW Airport's "Share the Dream" committee will select schools from North Texas districts to nominate students for the award. Schools invited to participate in the inaugural 2004 awards include:


North Dallas High School Skyline High School Wilmer-Hutchins High School


Carter-Riverside High School Polytechnic High School Success High School


Colleyville Heritage High School Grapevine High School The Bridges Academy Alternative School


L.D. Bell High School Keys High School Trinity High School


Irving High School McArthur High School Nimitz High School

Each of the 15 schools will nominate six students, three from the 9th- 10th-grade category and three from the 11th-12th-grade category. One student from each category from each school will receive the award. The deadline for submitting nominations is November 17.

To arrange interviews contact DFW Public Affairs at 972 574 NEWS (6397) or Ken Capps, APR, Vice President Public Affairs, kcapps@dfwairport.com